Central Desert Regional Council


  • Sectors Government
  • Founded Since 2007

Company Description

The Northern Territory Government first announced the structural reform of local government in the Northern Territory on the 31st of January 2007. The new Central Desert Shire Council came into existence on the 1st of July 2008.

The Local Government reform changed the way local government services where delivered to people living in remote communities. Eleven new Shire Councils were established in the Northern Territory, with the five existing municipal councils (Alice Springs Town Council, Darwin City Council, Katherine Town Council, Palmerston City Council and Litchfield Council) continuing to operate.

The new council region took in a large area of unincorporated land, and the communities that were previously managed by the local government bodies of:

  • Anmatjere Community Government Council
  • Yuelamu Community Inc.
  • Arltarlpilta Community Government Council
  • Nyirripi Community Inc.
  • Lajamanu Community Government Council
  • Yuendumu and Willowra Community Government Council

On 1 January 2014, the NT Government enacted further reforms to local government in the Northern Territory.  The reforms mandated Local Authorities (replacing Local Boards) and changed the name of the Central Desert Shire Council to the Central Desert Regional Council.